The Staff and Committee of Management of La Mama express our deep thanks for the overwhelming love and support we have received in the wake of the La Mama Fire. It has brought us much strength and pride to be part of such a generous and resourceful community. (Read about  the La Mama Rebuild)

There is much to do and we will need your support going forward. We will be launching a public fundraising campaign to assist with the rebuild of our beloved La Mama in the near future. In the short term, one of the best ways in which you can contribute is by supporting our artists by buying tickets and seeing their work. Come to the La Mama Courthouse where all our current programming is taking place.

Funds to rebuild La Mama

We are going through the appropriate insurance and planning processes, after which we will know what additional funds we need for the next version of La Mama. Our goal is to create something that will carry La Mama into the future, a place that can continue to provide opportunities for writers, designers and performers to share their work with the community. We’ll be sharing those plans with you in the near future.

A heart bursting thank you to the Victorian State Labor Government (and specifically Creative Industries Minister Martin Foley, advisor Holly Cooper and the team at Creative Victoria) for the confirmed, lead contribution of $1 million dollars which kicked-off our rebuild funds in November 2018.
We will continue discussions with government and philanthropic trusts, foundations and individuals over the coming months. We will be launching a public fundraising campaign in May 2019 to assist with the rebuild of our beloved theatre.

If you would like discuss how you (or your organisation) can play a role in the Rebuild La Mama campaign, and for all general donations and fundraising enquiries please contact Caitlin ( and/or Tim ( on (03) 9347 6948.


As mentioned above, we will soon be calling on the general public and wider La Mama community for cash donations towards the Rebuild of La Mama. We are of course open to receiving donations at any time.

  • Electronic funds transfer (EFT) direct to our bank account 

    La Mama Trust:

    BSB: 633 000.

    Account: 149445785

  • Please contact Caitlin once you have made a bank transfer/donation and we will send you a receipt for tax purposes.
  • Cheque; please make cheques out to the “La Mama Trust”
  • Bequests are a visionary way to support the work of La Mama into the future. A legacy gift of this kind is appreciated with profound gratitude.

If you wish to discuss making a donation to La Mama, leaving a bequest to La Mama, or chat about any other form of philanthropic and/or business partnership please contact Caitlin ( and/or Tim ( on (03) 9347 6948.  La Mama Theatre is a not-for-profit association incorporated in Victoria, with Australian Taxation Office endorsed Tax Concession Charity and Deductible Gift Recipient status. All donations over $2 are tax deductible.

La Mama ABN 74 925 853 734  is on the Register of Cultural Organisations under Subdivision 30-B of the Income Assessment Act 1997.


Thank You 

Our heartfelt gratitude for the financial contributions received from private individuals, artist collectives, shows and organisations who helped us Keep La Mama On Stage directly after the fire:

Simon Abrahams, Hadley Agrez, Katharine Anastasi, Gae Anderson, Jennifer Andersen, Ben Anderson, Barbara Angell, Emina Ashman, Victorian Committee – Australian Writers Guild, Ian Baker & Cheryl Saunders, Nick and Sarah Barry, Jenny Bates, Andrew Bell, Joshua Bell, Nicole Beyer, Dominka Bjelobrk, Paul Blackman, Blue Room Theatre (Perth WA), Heather Bolton, David Brennan, Michelle Brown, Rick Burchall, Samantha Butterworth, Kieran Carroll, Peter Carroll, Talya Chalef, Sophie Chapman, Anna Clark, Adam Clarke, Elizabeh Coleman, Matt Cosby, Jim Daly, Alison Davies, Adrian Del Re, Julian Dibley-Hall, Helen Donnard, Elizabeth Drysdale, Kim Durban, Leanne Edwards, Erica Field, Sue Finucane, Catriona FitzGerald, Heather Forbes and Neuk Foundation, Murray Garnsworthy, Rinske Ginsberg, Kim Goodwin, Dan Goronszy, Shaun Goss, Dorothy Greiveson and Martin Foot, Alexandre Guerin, Tom Gutteridge, Vivienne Halat, Emma Hall, Rebecca Harkins-Cross, Ann Healey, Trudy Hellier, William Henderson, Ming-Zhu Hii, Rebecca Hill, Ching Ching Ho, Stephen House, Ruth Katerelos, Sue Kirkham, Robyn Lansdowne, The Lasica Family, Kit Lazaroo, Richard Liddicut, Paul Longridge, Tamblyn Lord, Rosemary Macindoe, Malthouse Theatre, Alison Mann, Deirdre Marshall, Katrina Mathers, Lester Mascarenhas, Elise McCredie, Bec McGuinness, Kerrin Michael, Jane Miller, Sara Miranda, Tom Molyneux, Rachel Morgan, Peter Murphy, Brooke Murrray, Michael Nossal, Oblique Strategies, Vanessa O’Neill, Lou Oppenheim, Aaron Orzech, Arthus Ozols, Alison Richards,  Tony Reck, David Ross Paterson, Fiona Patten, Carole Patullo, Rachel Perks, Vanessa Pigrum, Nicola Pohl, PO PO MO CO, Bagryana Popov, Queens College (production of Cosi), Shannon Quinn, Nicholas Rijs, Meredith Rogers, Phyllis Jane Rose, Dave Sheludko, Elnaz Shgelani, Majed Shoukor, Peppa Sindar, Rosalynd Smith, Scott Sneddon, Tony Southwell, Zohar Spatz, Peter Sullivan, William Taylor, Jean Tong, Ann Tonks, Joe Toohey, Cissi Tsang, Cynthia Troup with writing workshop participants, Rachel Ung ,Robyn Vale, Roslyn Varley, Gail Veal, Annette Vieusseux, Victorian College of the Arts (Theatre School productions), Yvonne Virsik, Paul Voermans, Chi Vu, Sean Walpole, Russell Walsh, James Wardlaw, Caitlin Williams, Robyn Winslow, and Julia Zemiro.

The following 2018 La Mama shows also donated back a portion of their box office towards this endeavor: Bill Marshall Retrospective, Chronic, Disgust, Femme Play, I Shot Mussolini, Mothermorphosis, Pancake Opus, Passages of Affect (RMIT Creative Writing Students), and Motor Mouth Suck Face Study Session (Anthony Crowley).

Thank you to the amazing organisations/venues that housed our productions in the wake of the fire: Arts House, Dancehouse, Next Wave (Brunswick Mechanics Institute), Richmond Uniting Church, Melbourne Polytechnic (David Williamson Theatre), The Butterfly Club, Union House Theatre / University of Melbourne (Guild Theatre), and Arts House.

Thank you to Concert Lighting Systems and Lisa Inman, Lucy Guerin Inc, Polyglot, Power Stage, PRD Music Services, Resolution X, and Sydney Theatre Company for providing technical support.

Thank you to the generous people and organisations that donated items for our new office at the La Mama Courthouse. Thank you to all who so generously offered their valuable time, professional advice and support in the period after the La Mama Fire.

La Mama is extremely grateful for financial relief packages supplied by the Victorian Government through Creative Victoria, the Australia Council for the Arts, City of Melbourne and from Heritage Victoria.

Thank you to the individuals who donated to our La Mama 4 All Access Program in 2018: Xanthe Beesley, Karen Brown, Helen Donnard, Petria Eaves, Wilma Giles-Corti, Simon Fisher, Peter Fraser, Piper Huynh, Lisa Inman, David Jones, Petra Kalive and Tim Stitz, Daniel Koop, Sandra Long, Colette Mann, Gordon Mar, Fiona Maxwell, Jane Miller, Christine McKenzie, Peta Murray, Vanessa O’Neill, Jean Tong, and Amy Tsilemanis.

Thank you to Jeanne Pratt and The Pratt Foundation for their visionary support over a number of years; and so too the Sidney Myer Fund whose long-term generosity is deeply appreciated. Thank you to the Besen Family Foundation for their support.

Finally we also feel it important to mark that we have just passed the Ten-Year anniversary of our largest fundraising effort to date – the enormous contribution from our community in 2008 to Save La Mama by purchasing our building on Faraday Street. Thank you, we will never forget this long-lasting act of generosity.